Thank you Blizzard

So, I feel like this bit is a long time coming.

I’ve been playing World of Warcraft for a little over 6 years, and I’ve never been more proud to say I am part of this community than this past year.

A bit about me in Warcraft, and I totally blame @AlternativeChat for this.

I’m going to answer some things first, these questions come directly from AlternativeChat’s page. (I already submitted a form, but felt like doing this as well)

  • Why did you start playing Warcraft?

I started playing Warcraft when my mom’s good friend (he was also my French Teacher, so Bonjour Monsieur Millette!), gave my mom Warcraft 2, and Starcraft.  That kinda started the path of gaming in our household.  My mom loved the games, and asked if me and my brother wanted to try.  Keep in mind, at the time I was about 7 or 8, and my brother was only 4.  We both tried the games, and were hooked.  I loved the Orc campaign, while mom and my brother loved the Human campaign.  As for Starcraft, I loved playing Protos, mom and my brother loved Zerg, go figure.

But I never really got into World of Warcraft until many many years later. I first saw it back when AQ40 was current.  I saw my child hood friend playing his Night Elf Hunter, and he was in a raid group with all these other people.  My first raid encounter I saw someone play was Twin Emporers! It was INSANE!!  I thought it was super cool, and really liked Warcraft, so I begged my parents to let me get this game.  Well, as it was a sub and I wasn’t old enough to work, they said NOPE.  As well I had just started high school.

So it wasn’t until my ex let me roll a toon on his account, right before Wrath launched (and I literally mean, right before, it was 2 weeks), and I’ve been in love with it since.  I did, of course, get my own account, and I have waaaaay too many toons as of now.

  • What was the first ever character you rolled?

The first ever character I rolled was, Yaminoyugure my blood elf hunter.  Blood elf and horde because that’s what my ex played, and hunter because my child hood friend was a hunter.  I loved it, and I still have Bangalash in my stables!

  • Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

Like I said above, it was my ex and his friends.  They all played Horde, and while I did enjoy the Orc campaign in Warcraft 2, I was unsure.  I also did try to play Alliance quite a few times, but found the quests to be extremely boring, and I wasn’t a fan of any of the races except Draenei.

  • What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?

I actually have a few.  Some of them are really funny, some are sad, and some are having a great time.  My most funniest, was me disengaging off of the platform at the 3rd boss in Oculus on Heroic and falling to my death.  That was pretty epic, and that story still gets told in guild chat.

My saddest? Probably when I lost a few friends over people stalking me in game, and getting my private information.  Its sad when people you think are your friends, really aren’t.

The best time I have had? Well it would probably be raiding with the guild, but as well….every time someone has a birthday in the guild, we all go to Dalaran, get epically drunk, and dance naked on the bar in the Neutral Inn.  As for raiding, we have everything from praying to the RNG gods in a Troll voice, to calling 3 pets, “Yami’s right nut”, “Yami’s left nut”, and “Yami’s epeen.”  My guildies love me, and I love em to death.

  • What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

Leveling.  I am an altoholic to the extreme.  I love trying every class and every spec in the game, except DKs, and just leveling them.  Its amazing.  The one class I have the most problem with leveling is Death Knights.  I’ve level 32, deleted them all and only managed to get one to max level.

  • Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

Yup!! I always go back to this spot, which is where the lake in Hyjal feeds down into the Southfury River.  That is my thinking spot in game.  It has good music, and a great view.  Prior to Catacylsm, it was the cliffs overlooking Icemist Village from Wintergrasp.

  • How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

So this one actually took a fair amount of math… my total play time across all my toons is at 1 year, 038 days, 22 hours, 07 mins (as of recording the amount).  My total time played on Yami alone is: 156 days, 16 hours, 19 mins.  And yes, my subscription has never stopped.

  • Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

As a loremaster, YES. I do read it the first time through, then I will not.  This goes for once on Horde side, and once on Alliance side.

  • Are there any regrets from your time in game?

Not really.  Only big thing is I wish I had raided more.

  • What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?

This question…this question is very personal to me.  I’m going to go into more detail below about this, but its had an amazing impact on my life.

Earlier this year, me and my brother left a pretty abusive situation, and were left homeless (as I discussed here and here). I was told by some friends that I should start a gofundme page to see if I could get any help that way, as we were initially getting zero help from Social Services.  A guildie gave us enough money to stay at a hotel for the week until Social Services actually decided to help us.  We were both floored by the response the gofundmepage got.  I want to personally thank all the people that donated to us.  If not for your donations, we would have starved, and been on the street.  I also want to thank Azuriel and Tino for their help.  I love you both, and consider you great friends.

To say the least, I still can’t get over how much support I got from the Blizzard community.  It floors me STILL.  I’m eternally grateful to the entire community.  Because lets be honest here, I probably wouldn’t be alive today if not for them.

As an aside note, Social Services did eventually help  my brother, they would not help me as I had a job (even though it was only a few hours a week).

I am still blown away from this community, and the way we can gather around and help each other.  I do see flaws, we could be more inclusive of others, but I do appreciate it.

I want to thank you all again.

To Azuriel for helping me and helping me get the message out there, if not for you the donations would have probably been minuscule.  Thank you immensely from the bottom of my heart.

To Tino, you insane mooman.  I love you man, and thank you for all the help you have given me.

To Missy, I love you girl.  You’re an amazing writer, an awesome mod, and a great fellow lore nut.  You helped me with a ton as well.

To Lore, and the rest of Tankspot.  If not for watching your stream Lore, and the rest of Tank spot guides, we probably wouldn’t have killed DS as a guild.  But really, I blame you for my current love of raiding.  So thank you.

To Cadistra, and Noxychu, for getting me to draw again.  I’ve got quite a few sketches in the works, and thanks to you both! :D

To Sairo, for helping me with raiding, and in life in general.  You’re a great friend <3

To Kageyama Satsuki.  Thank you for making me feel happy while I was in the deepest parts of my despair.  Those drawings helped me a ton in picking myself back up from the brink.

To Hestiah and Glar for keeping my ass sane, and helping me.  Thank you.

To Sha of Happiness for helping me laugh at least once a day.  Thank you.

To applecidermage and Tzufit for lighting the fire under my ass that is Social Justice and make me rethink how I do things inside and out of game.  (ps go listen to their podcast, no really, do it.)

To Nash, Treckie and Xizta.  I blame you 3 for me even bothering to want to try streaming.  What have you done to me?  I mean uhh thank you!

To Wrathion, Aethas, Opheron and Kell Bell.  You two got me interested in writing again and in role playing.

To Rho, whom I blame for me being so interested in the community, and wanting to get into podcasting in the first place.

To Bells and Zuu, you two are amazingly crazy, and I thank you for the smiles you two bring me everyday!

To Nobbel and Sean, who inspire us all to be lore nerds :3

To Vol’jin, I salute you my warchief.  You’ve helped me with my bad days as well.

To Uthgrad, for supporting me in all this, and being my rock.  I love you.

To my guildies, my friends on wow, and anyone else on twitter.  Thank you.

And of course to Chris Metzen, Mike Morhaime, and everyone else at Blizzard.  Because without this game, I honestly don’t know where my life would be right now.

I love this game, I love this community, and I am eternally grateful to each and everyone of you.  Because without you, this community wouldn’t be what it was.

-Yami (闇)

About yaminohere

26 years old, Female, Canadian, LGBT, Gamer, Feminist, and all around mouthy bitch. My heroes are scientists and drag queens. "If you can't love yourself, how in the hell are you gonna love anyone else?!" - RuPaul. Header by @KageSatsuki on twitter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

